District Safety Committee

  • Under the authority of Texas Education Code (TEC) 37.109, the Elgin Independent School District has created a Safety and Security Committee in accordance with the guidelines established by the Texas School Safety Center.


    Members of the committee include a variety of stakeholders, such as district and campus administrators, department directors, Board of Trustee members, local emergency management officials, law enforcement, fire, EMS, and other community stakeholders.

Committee Members

    • Mr. Byron Mitchell (Elgin ISD School Board President)
    • Dr. Jodi Duron (Elgin ISD Superintendent)
    • Chief Patrick South (EPD and CoE Emergency Management)
    • Vacant (EPD)
    • Chief Randy Reyna (EFD)
    • Vacant - SRO (EPD)
    • Ms. Valarie Neidig (Elgin ISD School Board Member)
    • Mr. Matthew West (Elgin ISD Director of Safety & Risk Management)
    • Vacant (Teacher Representative)
    • Ms. Teresa Hill (Elgin ISD Employee)
    • Dr. Peter Perez (Elgin ISD Deputy Superintendent)
    • Mr. David Gerloff (Parent/Guardian Representative)
    • Mr. Alejandro Guerra (Parent/Guardian Representative)

Meeting Dates, Agendas & Minutes